DYB, DYB, DYB

20130729-165426.jpg
So, I actually was a scout. And a Guide. And an overachieving Brownie:

20130729-165612.jpg
I managed to avoid studying Textiles at both of my high schools, but somehow stayed in the Guiding and Scouting movement until I was about 15. At which point British bulldogs got a bit too touchy-feely for the only girl in the troop, so I left.*

When I saw Anna’s first Scout Woven Tee, it looked like something I a) might be able to handle, and b) definitely would wear.

This week, I’ve finally found time to actually finish one, and I am sooooo excited. I know it’s super easy and everyone in the world has made one by now, but it’s the first thing in years I’ve made for myself, the first thing I’ve ever made for myself from a pattern, and the first thing I’ll actually get heaps of wear out of.

Because my measurements are all over the place, and I’d never inserted a sleeve before, I made a muslin from some not-at-all-my-style cotton from the $2 table at Darn Cheap (if that shop didn’t live up to its name, I’d be ruined by now).

Fit satisfactory, stitches in a straight line, I then grabbed the pretty cotton (not sure what exactly, it’s maybe a bit heavier than lawn, but not quite quilting weight) I got at Spotlight a while ago. Almost panicked when I thought I didn’t have enough, but I worked out how to lay the pattern out so there’s actually plenty left over. Hopefully enough for a pair of Bubble Shorts for the Bubble.

Another first for me was the use of a pressing ham. However, in my case, I don’t actually have a ham. Instead, I used old (not too stained) cloth nappies, home made from op shop sheets (the thrifty went out the window a bit after Bubble arrived, but I had good intentions…).

20130729-182504.jpg
You may be able to see from that photo that I did something a wee bit crazy. I used Grainline Studio‘s French all your seams tutorial. I thought I might be a bit mad when my sister-in-law, a very experienced seamstress, says she had never tried to French seam sleeves. But I had a go, and behold:

20130803-084743.jpg
I’m really proud of the finished product. I faced the neckline and sleeves with red bias tape, using Haby Goddess’ Bias Binding Guide to get it right, and it sits lovely and flat. Next time, I’ll try the Grainline tutorial.

All in all, I learnt heaps and am pretty much squealing with excitement.

20130803-085939.jpg
(Please excuse the selfie in my grubby bathroom mirror)

20130803-092844.jpg

*The actual reason I left had more to do with the hour long commute to school after finishing Scouts at about 10pm the night before. It was all pretty chaste, really.

5 thoughts on “DYB, DYB, DYB

  1. Pingback: Scout Mk III | haus of harridan

  2. I may have brought some of this very same fabric on the weekend. I have a Grainline Archer planned, but you know how terrible I am at sticking to plans… We’re home for the next two days if you’d like to pop in for a hello and a sewing chat 🙂

    • Ooh, now I want more. I love that Scout, but it’s not the best sewing-wise.
      We’ve (Bubble has) been sick for the last 2 weeks, but she was much better this afternoon. Tomorrow might be good, I think we’re off to Ballarat for a couple of days while John is up there working. Sewing sounds like just the thing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

